Conor Oberst - Salutations-CD-South

Conor Oberst - Salutations


Conor Oberst's new album entitled Salutations, is a companion piece to Ruminations, released in October 2016 to widespread critical acclaim. When Conor wrote and recorded the songs on Ruminations, entirely solo ‰ÛÒ with just voice, piano, guitar and harmonica ‰ÛÒ he intended to ultimately record them with a full band. In the midst of putting together that band ‰ÛÒ The Felice Brothers plus the legendary drummer Jim Keltner ‰ÛÒ the passionate responses he was getting to those first solo recordings, from friends and colleagues, encouraged him to release the songs as-is, in their original sparse form, as his seventh solo album, Ruminations. Meanwhile, he simultaneously moved ahead with his plans to record with the band, heading to the famed Shangri-la Studios in Malibu to record Salutations. Guest contributions come courtesy of Jim James, Blake Mills, Maria Taylor, M Ward, Gillian Welch, Gus Seyffert, Pearl Charles, Nathaniel Walcott, and Jonathan Wilson. The new album includes full-band versions of the ten songs from Ruminations, plus seven additional songs, some from an additional session at Five Star Studios in Echo Park in fall 2016.

2LP - Double 140 Gram Vinyl with download card.