Glass Ghost - Lyfe-Vinyl LP-South

Glass Ghost - Lyfe


Glass Ghost founding member Michael Johnson is the drummer for Dirty Projectors, and founding member Eliot Krimsky has been recording and performing with Here We Go Magic. LYFE also features Joan Wasser a.k.a. Joan As Policewoman, Nat Baldwin of Dirty Proejctors, and Christopher Tignor of Slow Six and Wires Under Tension.

"Weird and mournful yet highly rhythmic, Brooklyn's Glass Ghost offers dance-friendly art pop." Time Out New York

"...a fractured bit of art-pop featuring...intoned falsetto over some spare production and airy beats." Pitchfork

Since the release of their debut album Idol Omen in 2009, Glass Ghost's founding members Eliot Krimsky and Michael Johnson have kept busy. In addition to playing dozens of shows, including a tour with White Rabbits, Johnson joined Dirty Projectors as their new drummer, Krimsky has been collaborating with Here We Go Magic on keys, and the duo welcomed two new members to the group, Tyler Wood on keyboards and percussion, and Aerial East on vocals. Like their debut, LYFE was produced by Tyler Wood, who also produced Joan As Policewoman's 2014 album The Classic. For the LYFE recording sessions, the group recruited many of their friends to contribute, including Joan Wasser of Joan As Policewoman, Nat Baldwin of Dirty Projectors, and Christopher Tignor of Slow Six and Wires Under Tension. Pushing their songs to new levels by working with Brooklyn's musical elite is nothing new for Glass Ghost. They worked with more than a dozen of their friends from Brooklyn's music community, including Sharon Van Etten (who in 2011 noted "Eliot Krimsky is one of my favorite writers."), Here We Go Magic's Luke Temple, and Matt Iwanusa of Caveman, for their debut which was described by the New Yorker as "elegant compositions of frosted indie pop," and by Time Out New York as "weird and mournful yet highly rhythmic." Rather than sounding didactic or overly intellectual, the songs provide windows into the band's internal world, as Krimsky's tender falsetto glides over the icy landscapes of synths, strings, woodwinds, and regal horns. As the product of Krimsky, Johnson, and Wood's mutual trust, vision, and relentless attention to every detail, LYFE masterfully blends airy, melancholy, and chilly atmospherics with Glass Ghost's irresistible bottomheavy grooves and hooky pop sensibilities.åÊ

Tracks : 01 Life Is For The Living 02 Sound of Money 03 Triangle 04 Wait A Second 05 Walls 06 HomeFor the Holidays 07 Unidentified 08 American Dollar 09 Hearing The Sound 10 Traveling With You 11 Outro