Herbert - The Shakes-CD-South

Herbert - The Shakes

The pioneering electronic musician Matthew Herbert releases 'The Shakes', his first new dance record for nine years. 'The Shakes' is Matthew Herbert's first album under the name Herbert since 2006's dark orchestral disco fantasy 'Scale' (K7!). The album deals with intensely personal issues such as raising young children against a backdrop of an increasingly unstable world and, amongst other things, utilizes the sound of used bullets and shells from eBay as part of its soundscape. Herbert himself suggests that the record can be seen as a treatise on how "music helps to motivate, provide respite and divert us from the challenges of the everyday" and that it is "electronic music for the soul." Musicians featured on The Shakes include Dave Okumu (The Invisible, Jessie Ware) on guitar, Sam Beste (Hejira, Amy Winehouse) on keyboards, organ, saxophonist Ben Castle (Quincy Jones, Radiohead), trombonist Alistair White (Van Morrison, Blur) and Chris Storr (Beyonce, James Brown) on trumpet. Vocalists on the album include Rahel Debebe-Dessalegne (Hejira, Nitin Sawhney) - who sings on Middle, Smart, Ones, Know, Silence and Warm - and Ade Omotayo (Kindness, Amy Winehouse) - who sings on Battle, Strong, Stop, Bed, Safety and Peak - and notable highlights include Herbert's Grandfather's piano and a piano from Wormwood Scrubs on 'Smart', the sounds of UK protest marches (on 'Strong') and the sound of used bullets and shells from eBay on 'Safety'.
CD - Digipack.
LP - Double Vinyl housed in Gatefold.
Both formats include download codes for the album plus bonus remixes.