Meat Wave - Brother

  • Sale
  • Regular price £10.99

5 Brand new songs from Chicago's snotty and urgent Meat Wave, plus a cover of The Wipers' 'Mystery' on 45rpm Red Vinyl - Limited to 1000 copies. Meet Meat Wave, a Chicago trio who play insanely catchy punk rock. The band's chemistry between Chris Sutter (vocals, guitar), Joe Gac (bass) and Ryan Wizniak (drums) propels their songs with undeniable force and charisma. 'Brother' is a raw, under-two-minute romp and the video's stuttering images echo the song's claustrophobia and restlessness. 'Brother' is backed here on the 'Brother EP' by 6 other slices of crucial pop-punk, including the vicious, swaggering 'Sham King'. Sutter, Gac and Wizniak found each other in 2011, all twenty-something participants of the local Chicago scene. The three released a self-titled album in 2012 with the help of Hawthorne Street Records (home to Pelican, Sweet Cobra and others). Meat Wave's sinister bass lines, maniac drumming and fuzzed out guitars draw from influential post-punk bands like Hot Snakes as well as Chicago pillars Jesus Lizard and Naked Raygun.