Bikini Kill - Bikini Kill (30th Anniversary Edition)

  • Sale
  • Regular price £31.99

This is the 30th anniversary reissue of Bikini Kill's debut 12-inch EP. Originally released in the fall of 1992, Bikini Kill comprises four songs recorded by Ian MacKaye at Inner Ear Studios; one song from the band's 1991 demo cassette, record by Pat Maley (Yo-Yo Studios); and one song recorded during Bikini Kill's live performance on April 4th, 1992, at Washington, DC's Sanctuary Theater. The vinyl reissue includes a new fanzine in the form of a 34-inch by 21-inch poster featuring interviews with MacKaye and Molly Neuman (Bratmobile), liner notes by Layla Gibbon (Skinned Teen, MRR), excerpts from the band members' zines (Bikini Kill #1 and #2, Jigsaw #4), and rare photos from the band members' personal archives. Bikini Kill was a feminist punk band that was based in Olympia, WA, and Washington, DC, forming in 1990 and breaking up in 1997. Kathleen Hanna sang, Tobi Vail played drums, Billy Karren (a.k.a. Billy Boredom) played guitar and Kathi Wilcox played bass. Bikini Kill is credited with instigating the Riot Grrrl movement in the early '90s via their political lyrics, zines and confrontational live performances.