Norma Tanega - I’m the Sky: Studio and Demo Recordings, 1964–1971

  • Sale
  • Regular price £28.99

Norma Tanega’s I’m the Sky: Studio and Demo Recordings, 1964–1971 is a comprehensive survey of the pioneering folk artist’s two commercially released studio albums, an unreleased album, and a trove of unheard demos. Before playing a pivotal part in folk music’s cultural crossover in the ‘60s, Tanega was a curious little girl born at the very end of the ‘30s to a multicultural Navy family in Long Beach, California. Her parents often brought her to Los Angeles for piano lessons, and eventually Tanega earned an MFA at Claremont College, where she studied classical composers like Aaron Copeland and George Gershwin. Amidst her academic pursuits, Tanega learned to play acoustic guitar and autoharp by following Joan Baez records and hanging out at the Folk Music Center, a music store and performance space in Claremont that exists to this day. After college, Tanega landed in Greenwich Village in 1963, and became active in the coffee house scene and early protests against the Vietnam War. Working summers as a camp counselor in the Catskill Mountains, the up-and-coming producer and arranger Herb Bernstein caught Tanega perform at the camp, and introduced her to songwriter Bob Crewe


Disc: 1
1. Jubilation
2. Now Is the Time
3. Walkin' My Cat Named Dog
4. Elephants, Angels and Roses
5. A Street That Rhymes at 6 AM
6. I'm Dreamin' a Dream
7. I'm the Sky
8. Cowfold
9. When It Touches You, a Snowflake Dies
10. Magic Day
11. You're Dead
12. Stranger
13. What More in This World Could Anyone Be Living For (Version 2)
14. A Goodbye Song

Disc: 2
1. Love Is Such a Happy Thing
2. Sunday Morning
3. No One
4. Time Becomes Gray
5. Solar Winds
6. Who Are You
7. Illusion
8. Maggie My Dog
9. If I Only Had a Name Like Norma Tanega
10. La Jolla
11. In Between Changes
12. A Song For a Friend Who Died
13. What More in This World Could Anyone Be Living For (Demo Version)
14. Deaf Man’s Wife (Bonus Track)