Lush - Spooky

  • Sale
  • Regular price £27.99

The wait is over. All three studio albums by Lush are finally back in print on vinyl.

Built around the songwriting talents of Emma Anderson and Miki Berenyi, Lush successfully defined a myriad of 1990s scenes, such as shoegaze, dream pop and Britpop, before they disbanded in 1998.

A much-loved band who briefly reformed in 2016, recent years have seen a new, young audience fall in love with their music after discovering it via TikTok, Spotify et al. And outside of a lavish career retrospective boxset in 2016, all three studio albums - ‘Spooky’ (1992), ‘Split’ (1994) and ‘Lovelife’ (1996) - have been unavailable on vinyl since the 1990s.

With demand high, the band have been working with renowned engineer / producer Kevin Vanbergen to help them remaster their catalogue, starting with their studio albums. Using the original 1⁄2” production tapes for source material, Kevin has painstakingly worked on them to create brand new, stunning 24- bit masters that perfectly capture the thrill of the originals. They’ve never sounded so good.

Famously working with 4AD’s inhouse designers v23 on every release, album art has always been central to Lush’s appeal too. For these represses, the first two albums will come housed in their original designs, while ‘Lovelife’ uses the art from their 2016 boxset to keep 1996’s collectible tracing paper sleeve exclusive to that initial pressing.

Originally released January 27, 1992, with a few EPs and a mini album (‘Scar’) having set the scene, ‘Spooky’ is Lush’s 1992 debut studio album.

A key text for British indie music after the turn of a decade, it was produced by labelmate Robin Guthrie (Cocteau Twins) and features the singles ‘Nothing Natural’, ‘For Love’ and ‘Superblast!’.

Available to independent retailers on clear vinyl.