Neu! - 50!

  • Sale
  • Regular price £119.99

NEU! announce the release of a brand new boxset marking the 50th Anniversary of their first record, with a Tribute album featuring reworks from The National, Idles, Alexis Taylor (Hot Chip), Mogwai, Fink, Stephen Morris (New Order) and more.

Like other experimental bands of the late 60s and early 70s gathered under the banner of Krautrock, NEU! were driven by a mixture of political and artistic imperatives to reject the cliches and conventions of orthodox, blues-based Anglo- American rock and create a music that was, formally, West German in origin.

NEU! are one of the great, belated success stories of rock music. Their influence is widespread, international, continued. Ian Curtis (Joy Division) played the rest of the group NEU! as part of their weekly education classes, David Bowie often spoke of his love for the duo and called them “Kraftwerk’s wayward, anarchistic brothers,” and in the 1990s Stereolab paid NEU! homage in their Franco-Germanic avant-Europop, and further co-signs come from Damon Albarn, Brian Eno, Thom Yorke, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Sonic Youth and Placebo.

Formed in 1971, the band consisted of Klaus Dinger and Michael Rother, who had both previously been members of Kraftwerk. They issued three albums in the original era (‘Neu!’, ‘Neu! 2’ and ‘Neu! ’75’), all co-produced by the legendary Conny Plank. A fourth and final album, ‘Neu! 4’, was also issued in 1986 (also known as ‘Neu! ’86’).

The 5LP edition does not include the ‘Neu! 4’ album from 1986 but spreads the tribute album over the last two vinyl discs.