Jaakko Eino Kalevi - Jaakko Eino Kalevi

  • Sale
  • Regular price £10.99

Jaakko Eino Kalevi releases his self-titled album - his first full length album on Weird World Records / Domino. The self-titled, ten-track collection finds Jaakko on spellbinding form, composing sumptuous and wildly original music that teems with ideas and more than delivers on the promise of its predecessor, the breakthrough 2013 EP 'Dreamzone'. Jaakko Eino Kalevi marks the start of a striking new chapter for the Berlin-based artist - a former tram driver in Helsinki - who's already made quite an impression on the international stage these past 12 months. The record was already recorded by the time Jaakko relocated to Berlin last summer, and so later in the year he escaped to New York to mix the record with Nicolas Vernhes, whose almighty and rich recent credits include The War On Drugs and Run The Jewels. The music takes it's cues from influences as broad-ranging as Lee 'Scratch' Perry (for his 'singularity and drive', explains Jaakko), the 'softness and adultness' of Chris Rea, Finnish composer Jimi Tenor and the hyper-vivid fantasy worlds of the more contemporary Ariel Pink and Connan Mockasin.

Deluxe LP - Heavyweight Black Vinyl with Download. The Deluxe LP format comes with a bonus 7" featuring 'Letter' and 'Walking' and a highly collectable, full-colour comic telling the mythical story of visionary musician Jaakko Eino Kalevi as illustrated by Finland's legendary cartoonist Vilunki 3000, often described as the cosmic lovechild of Robert Crumb and Walt Disney.