Neutral Milk Hotel - On Avery Island (Deluxe Edition)

  • Sale
  • Regular price £28.99

Neutral Milk Hotel‘s explosive 1996 debut, On Avery Island, receives the deluxe reissue treatment with a yellow and red vinyl 2xLP press, complete with revised artwork and cut at 45RPM. Jeff Mangum’s songs are cryptic and crazed, his ideas fast and furious, and together they force the home-recording concept out of the basement and into a brave new world, a fuzzy masterpiece of experimental lo-fi recording. Full of rapid-fire wordplay with true and heartfelt experimentation, both ambitious and eclectic, it’s not hard to see why this has been such an influential album. Part of the fabled Elephant 6 collective, Neutral Milk Hotel won over many a music critic with this cult classic. The band are recognized as one of the most influential alternative acts to come out of the mid-90s and sowed the seeds for everything from anti-folk to the likes of Arcade Fire, Caribou and even Franz Ferdinand.

Track listing: Side A (45RPM) A1 Song Against Sex A2 You've Passed A3 Someone is Waiting Side B (45RPM) B1 A Baby for Pree B2 Marching Theme B3 Where You'll Find Me Now. Side C (45RPM). C1 Avery Island/April 1st C2 Gardenhead/ Leave Me Alone C3 Three Peaches. Side D. (33RPM). D1 Naomi D2 April 8th D3 Pree-Sisters Swallowing a Donkey's Eye.  

Ltd edition Double Yellow and Red Vinyl, Gatefold sleeve, Insert & DL card. Cut to Audiophile 45 & 33rpm.