R.E.M. - Monster (25th Anniversary Edition)

  • Sale
  • Regular price £18.99

R.E.M.’s ninth album, Monster, was released at a time when the band were coming off the peak of their mainstream success, following Out of Time (1991) and Automatic For The People (1992). Coming from a long break in touring (the band famously didn’t tour with the two previous records), Monster represented an intentional shift in R.E.M.’s sound, a “return to rock” with guitar laden, simple arrangements. It was released to strong reviews and significant global success – reaching #1 on Billboard, and least 7 other countries. The album includes the singles; “What’s The Frequency, Kenneth?,” “Crush with Eyeliner,” “Bang and Blame,” and “Strange Currencies.” In 1995 the band promoted that album with their first concert tour since 1989

2LP: Consist of: Side A/B – Original album – remastered and Side C/D – 2019 Remixed album*

1LP: Consist of: Side A/B – Original album – remastered

* Original Producer Scott Litt re-approached R.E.M.’s “Monster” for the forthcoming 25th anniversary release by remixing the entire album.  The original 1995 version was dense in guitars and feedback with the vocals mixed within the sonic wall, but on this alternative version the guitars are pulled back and the vocals pushed forward to create a more open sound and showcase often-revealing lyrics.